Every story has a beginning...

Every story has a beginning...

A little about me

Hey! Jay Knowles is my name, and I am a software engineer based in The Bahamas. I am now enrolled at 100Devs, a software engineer bootcamp. You should absolutely check them out! I am currently learning the MERN stack. Since beginning the JavaScript portion, I have discovered that it can be difficult to get started. I was having trouble with understanding the resources because I found the information was not simplified enough. So, once a week, I'll publish what I'm learning in JavaScript and how you can apply it to your own study.

Prior to discovering 100Devs, I had experimented with a variety of platforms, including freeCodeCamp, The Odin Project, and Scrimba. Those platforms, while amazing, did not fit my learning style. One thing I noticed while utilizing those platforms was how isolating it was to learn how to code. There would be a brief high of me saying "wow, look at me typing hello world on a webpage", but when it came time to start working on projects, I would become stuck. That tiny voice in my head would begin to doubt my ability to do that task.

As a result, every time I tried a new platform, the rush of excitement would enter my body but, it would not last more than 30 days. I was disappointed. When the novelty had worn off, I did not touch my laptop for weeks. Now that I have been on this path for two months, I have found a fantastic community that is here to support me. I am learning first-hand the value of belonging to a community. You will not be able to offer 100 percent every day, but that's where the community comes in. You are never alone, even though there might be days that you think you are.

There are a lot of places to start when it comes to why I wanted to start blogging, but I'm going to keep it simple. Many blogs or posts I've seen are beginner-friendly yet still complicated. It can be intimidating to learn JavaScript because it’s almost like learning a new language, and we all know how difficult that can be. Breaking everything down step by step, brick by brick, is the simplest method to learn. We will start with the basics and work our way up from there. This blog is for engineers who are new to JavaScript or need to brush up on the fundamentals.